Master Works for Cello and Orchestra

Join the Orchestra of St John's for an evening concert, with conductor John Lubbock.

Doors: Open at 6.30pm, music from 7.30pm

Tickets: £16 chair / £8 rear seats


We are delighted to welcome Margarita Balanas, who joins us for a concert including masterworks for cello and orchestra. She will perform Saint-Saëns’ first cello concerto – a passionate work in A minor which showcases both strength and delicacy in the solo instrument and orchestra. Combine this with Milhaud’s well-known suite for wind ensemble, and beautiful music from that master of lyricism Gabriel Fauré, and you are looking at one fantastically satisfying evening.


Milhaud Suite d’Après Corrette
Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No. 1
Fauré Elegy
Fauré Pelleas et Melisande

Margarita Balanas, cello
Orchestra of St John’s
John Lubbock, conductor

Find out more at www.osj.org.uk

List of site pages