News item from 2010

Richard Briant / Arcaid

The Ashmolean Wins RIBA Award 2010

Judged regionally, the annual RIBA Awards celebrate the best examples of new architecture across the UK and Europe, designed by RIBA members.

The seven buildings in the South region that have won RIBA Awards are:

Ashmolean Museum, Oxford - Rick Mather Architects
Auditorium, Corpus Christi College - Rick Mather Architects
Private House, Oxfordshire - Yiangou Architects LLP.

Water Hall Primary School, Bletchley – Architecture MK (Milton Keynes Council)
The Gateway, Buckinghamshire New University, High Wycombe – RMJM

Wellstead Primary School, Hedge End - Hampshire County Council

Isle of Wight:
Private House – The Manser Practice

RIBA Awards for architectural excellence will be presented across the country today with 102 buildings in the UK and Europe winning awards (93 in the UK and nine in the rest of the EU).

RIBA President Ruth Reed said about the 2010 RIBA Award winners:

‘The RIBA Awards reflect not only the state of British architecture but also that of its economy. In the midst of the deepest recession in the 45 year history of the RIBA Awards this year’s winners demonstrate that although times might be hard for architects, there are still great buildings being built throughout the country and overseas. The RIBA Awards always give an opportunity for gem-like small projects and less established practices to shine through and this year is no exception. Far from being a size prize, the RIBA Awards are for buildings that offer value to people’s lives. I am looking forward to seeing an exciting RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist.’

One of the world’s leading university museums, the Ashmolean in Oxford, reopened to the public in November 2009 following a multi-million pound redevelopment. The new building, designed by award-winning Rick Mather Architects, has doubled the Museum’s display space. Located to the north of Charles Cockerell’s original Museum built in 1845, it comprises 39 new galleries, including 4 temporary exhibition galleries, a new education centre, state-of-the-art conservation studios, and Oxford’s first rooftop restaurant The Ashmolean Dining Room.

The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist will be drawn from the 102 RIBA Award winners. The RIBA Stirling Prize, in association with The Architects’ Journal is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year. The prize will be presented at The Roundhouse, London on Saturday 2 October 2010.


Go to Top of Page